‘Best wishes’: a glimpse at our upcoming exhibition

As you are no doubt aware; Christmas is coming! Sending your nearest and dearest a card at Christmas is a long-standing tradition reaching back into the Victorian era. They are a way to spread a little good cheer, reconnect with distant family members, recap the year’s events and bring a smile to your loved one’s face. Queen Victoria herself was a fan of sending Christmas cards, buying thousands to send to her vast amount of royal relatives but also to her neighbours at Windsor and Osbourne. Today we send cards for nearly every occasion imaginable, and the Greg family was no different.

In January Quarry Bank Mill will be installing a brand new exhibition based around a collection of  cards sent by Emily Gair Greg – “Emmy” – the great-granddaughter of Quarry Bank’s founder Samuel Greg. In 1876 Emmy caught the dreaded Scarlet Fever and passed away but her lively, loving memory lives on in the cards she sent to her mother and aunt.

A valentines card in possession by Quarry Bank Mill a National Trust property

I’ve been lucky enough to have been given permission by Ellen Fenton, our Learning & Interpretation Manager, to give you a sneak-peek at some of the cards – all of which are gorgeous, intricate and full of affection -and hopefully tempt you to come and check out the exhibition when it opens.

A card sent by Emmy Greg the great-granddaughter of Samuel Greg, founder of Quarry Bank Mill a National Trust property.

A little closer to the opening of the exhibition I’ll also be writing a feature post on Emmy and the impact she had on her family so keep your eyes peeled!

Laura

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Emily Janes says:

    Hi Laura I am a Greg descendant my granny was Barbara Greg and you may know my dad Michael Janes. I read about your exhibition about Emily Gair Greg with interest. My great aunt Emily who was my granny’s sister left me some things belonging to
    Emily Gair Greg I think because I am called Emily. She died when I was very young so I don’t remember her very well. I have got a locket belonging to Emily Gair Greg with a Lock ,of her hair and a photo of her inside and I also have her christening mug. It might be too late but if you would like to borrow these things for the exhibition I can send them to you. How long is the exhibition going on for as I am coming up to the mill in April with my mum and dad and I’d love to see it if it is still on. Emily Janes

    1. Hi Emily,

      thank you so much for getting in touch, it’s always lovely to hear from the Greg descendants and hear their stories of the family! If you ring 01625 527468 which is the property’s main phone number, you should be able to get through to Ellen Fenton who is in charge of the exhibition and I’m sure would love to hear from you. I’ll let her know to expect your call, thank you very much for your generosity.

      Laura

  2. Emily Janes says:

    I will call on Monday thanks Emily

Leave a Reply

